Diary of a Fitness Competitor: Moving From The NPC to WBFF

DFC Header
If you followed along on my last journey, Diary of a Bikini Competitor, then you already know I was itching to get myself out of the NPC and potentially out of the bikini division. There are many reasons for my decision but ultimately it came down to the fact that I didn’t enjoy my previous competition experience and the NPC was not the right fit for me.
IMG_6670
The fact is that certain body types will do better in different organizations and individual structure and physique dictate that. My body type is much more athletic and “full” looking, which doesn’t fit well with NPC bikini [unwritten] guidelines.

Originally, I had said I was moving out of competition/bodybuilding world and into a more athletic field (sprint tris, sports leagues, Tough Mudders, etc.) While I certainly have my eye on a few more athletic endeavors, I have decided to give competing one more shot. This time around, I am competing WBFF.

In my opinion, WBFF fitness models look healthier and more athletic than some of the competitors I’ve witnessed at previous NPC/IFBB shows. I have also found that many more WBFF competitors share my flexible dieting philosophy. While I could talk all day about the difference (and many people would disagree) it really comes down to this: NPC isn’t a good fit for me and I would like to try something new.

The appeal of fitness divisions, combined with theme wear and gowns, is also a huge draw. What woman doesn’t want to throw on a pair of wings like a ripped Victoria’s Secret model?

Jen Jewell - WBFF fitness model pro.

Jen Jewell – WBFF fitness model pro

Andreia Brazier - 4x WBFF Fitness Diva Champion

Andreia Brazier – 4x WBFF Fitness Diva Champion

IFBB Bikini Pro Narmin Assria

IFBB Bikini Pro Narmin Assria

 

 

 

 

 

 

My last go around, I has just started following a flexible dieting lifestyle. My prep was based, roughly, on flexible dieting principles but I certainly hadn’t nailed everything down yet. Truth? I managed it myself and I didn’t manage it well. There is a reason even the best of the best have their own coaches. It’s really easy to second guess everything you do, even if [logically] you know what you are doing is correct.

This time around, I hired a coach of my own.

My coach works closely with Layne Norton, is highly qualified, and follows flexible dieting principles which is precisely why I choose her. She will be managing the nutritional aspects of my 12 week prep.

The competition I choose is WBFF Chicago. Why not Denver? Well, surprise! My fiance and I are moving back to Michigan. It’s been a crazy couple months of living apart, new jobs, quitting old jobs, finding a new house, and planning a move back across the country. With that being said, Chicago is obviously a much closer choice. Many people have asked, “won’t it be hard to prep with all that going on!?” Well, not really. That’s the beauty of flexible dieting and having someone else managing my numbers for me.

IMG_6672Because my goal is to compete in the fitness division, I have spent the last year eating close to my TDEE and really focusing on building my upper body.

My calories have been close to 2,400 with about 240 grams of carbs. Starting a prep this high is ideal, because it means I won’t have to cut nearly as hard.

As of today, I am 12 weeks and 4 days out from the July show and I have been “on prep” for 1 week.

My prep is starting out well. My two “refeed” days are my original 2,400 calories and 240 carbs with the rest of my days closer to 1,800 calories and 150 grams of carbs. Week 1 was brutal. A 600 calorie deficit is no joke! After 2-3 days I was able to tweak my food (hello volume foods!) to help with the hunger and I feel like I’m finally in a routine.

Cardio is pretty much non-existent at this point. (Beginning a prep when you aren’t using cardio to stay lean is pretty great.) I am doing 30 minutes of intense cardio once a week now. This week? A 30 minute 2,000+ elevation hike in the beautiful front range. Not bad!

Just as I did last time, I will do a recap each week of my experience and progress.

I am so excited about this new journey!

Amanda Signature

2 responses to “Diary of a Fitness Competitor: Moving From The NPC to WBFF

  1. LOVE THIS!!! I read your last journey when I first started my prep last November 2015 and I couldn’t wait to read your next entry (even read during my work days haha instead of working haha). It gave such a good insight for someone who was so new to this world of fitness/body building let along her first competition. I love your Insta account as well 🙂 keep going Amanda – can;t wait to see what the next 12 weeks brings! ❤ from Australia as well 🙂 xo

    Like

  2. just found your blog and insta account! I love it!!!!! sooo sooo cool that you’re a future doctor, as that is my career goal too hahaha

    Like

Leave a comment